High School Soccer

Spartans highlight 19-6A boys, girls soccer honors

By Dennis Silva II, Sports Editor
Posted 4/23/21

Seven Lakes was well-represented on the 19-6A all-district soccer teams released earlier this month, and for good reason. The Spartans boys and girls were district champions.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in
High School Soccer

Spartans highlight 19-6A boys, girls soccer honors


Seven Lakes was well-represented on the 19-6A all-district soccer teams released earlier this month, and for good reason. The Spartans boys and girls were district champions.

On the boys side, the Spartans boasted the 19-6A Most Valuable Player in senior Diego Laz0, the Coach of the Year in Jimmy Krueger, and the Newcomer of the Year in freshman Aidan Morrison.

Lazo, a defender, had three goals and five assists in district play. Morrison had two goals and an assist.

Krueger led the Spartans to a 10-1-1 record in 19-6A.

Cinco Ranch, 19-6A’s second-place team at 8-2-2, claimed the 19-6A Offensive MVP in sophomore Dany Vargas and the Defensive MVP in sophomore Jake Manzi. Vargas had six goals and one assist in district play.

Katy senior Fuller Shurtz was the goalkeeper of the year.

Taylor finished third in 19-6A at 7-3-2. Tompkins finished fourth at 6-4-2. Morton Ranch was fifth at 3-8-1, and Katy and Mayde Creek each tied at 2-10-0.

The following is the rest of the 19-6A boys all-district team.

First team: Vicente Garcia, Seven Lakes, sr.; Matt Stewart, Seven Lakes, sr.; Bryan Egba, Seven Lakes, sr.; Julian Arai, Seven Lakes, sr.; Ty Koc, Seven Lakes, jr.; Hunter Cain, Cinco Ranch, sr.; Andres Liendo, Cinco Ranch, sr.; Marcos Valencillos, Cinco Ranch, sr.; Julio Colmenares, Cinco Ranch, so.; Aidan Bousleiman, Taylor, sr.; Andrey Millan, Taylor, sr.; Niilo Hanninen, Taylor, sr.; Jeongwook Yun, Taylor, sr.; Luis Lago, Tompkins, so.; Rafa Gonzalez, Tompkins, jr.; Eddie Vasquez, Tompkins, jr.; Syed Zain, Morton Ranch, sr.; Kevin Sanchez, Morton Ranch, jr.; Tyler Morgan, Katy, so.; Edgar Sanchez, Katy, sr.; Italo Rodriguez, Mayde Creek, jr.

Second team: Hunter Merritt, Seven Lakes, so.; Noa Stasic, Seven Lakes, fr.; Seba Rodriguez, Cinco Ranch, jr.; Austin Tran, Taylor, sr.; Luke Skelton, Taylor, jr.; Gabriel Zagastizabal, Taylor, jr.; Jose Ojeda, Tompkins, sr.; Ojas Shandilya, Tompkins, jr.; Jose Ramos, Tompkins, so.; Enrique Salazar, Morton Ranch, sr.; Christian Odongkara, Morton Ranch, sr.; Kevin Resendez, Morton Ranch, jr.; Chris Hernandez, Morton Ranch, jr.; Zach Guerra, Katy, sr.; Jacob Smith, Katy, sr.; Jack Flores, Katy, jr.; Cesar Andrade, Mayde Creek, sr.; Juan Briones, Mayde Creek, sr.; Brandon Gasca, Mayde Creek, jr.; Charly Gomez, Mayde Creek, jr.

Honorable Mention: John Ortiz, Cinco Ranch, jr.; Ossian Elgstrom, Cinco Ranch, fr.; Nemanja Lazic, Katy, sr.; Emanuel Ruiz, Katy, jr.; Gabriel Cuevas, Mayde Creek, jr.; Austin Ledford, Mayde Creek, jr.; Victor Depetris, Morton Ranch, sr.; Andres Garcia, Morton Ranch, jr.; Christian Gonzalez, Seven Lakes, sr.; Lukas Piotrowicz, Taylor, jr.; Lewis Paterson, Taylor, jr.; Luke Andrepont, Tompkins, sr.; Paulo Valente, Tompkins sr.

On the girls side, Seven Lakes had the District MVP in senior Phoebe Harpole and the Offensive MVP in sophomore Haydan Erck. Tompkins junior Gabriela Rodriguez was the Defensive MVP.

Mayde Creek junior Kirsten Baxa was named Goalkeeper of the Year, and Katy freshman Hannah Phillips and Cinco Ranch freshman Erin McConnell were named Co-Newcomers of the Year.

Katy coach Dianne Loftin won Coach of the Year.

Seven Lakes and Tompkins shared the 19-6A title, each 10-1-1. Katy was third at 4-5-3, followed by Cinco Ranch at 3-4-5, Taylor at 3-5-4, Mayde Creek 2-8-2 and Morton Ranch 1-9-2.

The following is the rest of the 19-6A girls all-district team.

First team: Phoebe Harpole, Seven Lakes, sr.; Haydan Erck, Seven Lakes, so.; Maddie Rich, Seven Lakes, so.; Paige Boucher, Seven Lakes, sr.; Katie Fitzpatrick, Seven Lakes, jr.; Katie Lennon, Seven Lakes, so.; Gabriela Rodriguez, Tompkins, jr.; Alyssa Garcia, Tompkins, sr.; Avery Burchett, Tompkins, sr.; Felicia Hernandez, Tompkins, sr.; Kyla Warner, Tompkins, sr.; Gabriela Vazquez, Tompkins, so.; Sabrina Lopez, Cinco Ranch, sr.; Lindsay Moore, Cinco Ranch, sr.; Abby Mercadante, Cinco Ranch, so.; Yamila Lara, Katy, sr.; Rebecca Partyka, Katy, jr.; Angelina Hamberlin, Katy, jr.; Astrid Mencia, Mayde Creek, sr.; Emma Arroyo, Mayde Creek, sr.; Kirsten Baxa, Mayde Creek, jr.; Chauner Clausing, Taylor, jr.; Mara Ramazanoglu, Taylor, so.; Gabby Magana, Taylor, sr.; Sommone Sesay, Morton Ranch, sr.; Victoria Ruvalcaba, Morton Ranch, jr.

Second team: Rommel Espinoza, Morton Ranch, sr.; Ciriani Campoverde, Morton Ranch, jr.; Jaina Leigh, Morton Ranch, so.; Emilee Copeland, Morton Ranch, so.; Izzy Rodriguez, Cinco Ranch, jr.; Alex Cupples, Cinco Ranch, jr.; Erin McConnell, Cinco Ranch, fr.; Jessica Rico, Katy, jr.; Hannah Phillips, Katy, fr.; Olyvia Witham, Katy, so.; Alicia Loera, Mayde Creek, so.; Tiffanie De La Cruz, Mayde Creek, sr.; Stephanie De La Cruz, Mayde Creek, sr.; Lexi Peterson, Seven Lakes, sr.; Cassie Trevino, Seven Lakes, sr.; Rebecca Romero, Seven Lakes, so.; Summer Calles, Taylor, so.; Ally Spicker, Taylor, sr.; Sydney Blanchard, Taylor, sr.; Valentina Giannetto, Tompkins, fr.; Kayla Boven, Tompkins, so.; Daniela Sanchez, Tompkins, jr.

Honorable Mention: Ari Khenayzir, Cinco Ranch, so.; Sophia Vargas, Cinco Ranch, jr.; Alli Powell, Cinco Ranch, jr.; Olivia Cullen, Katy, sr.; Valentina Cadavid, Katy, jr.; Ashley Albornoz, Katy, jr.; Esveidy Fabila, Mayde Creek, jr.; Kylie Orr, Mayde Creek, so.; Yaisa Reyes, Mayde Creek, sr.; Genoveva Bonilla, Morton Ranch, jr.; Natalie Camarena, Morton Ranch, sr.; Ashlyn Duty, Morton Ranch, so.; Laura Davis, Seven Lakes, jr.; Luann Drake, Seven Lakes, jr.; Alexa Blake, Taylor, jr.; Itzel Mejia, Taylor, sr.; Jennifer Pham, Tompkins, sr.; Ilyse Lehmann, Tompkins, so.

District 19-6A soccer, all-district picks, Katy ISD, athletics, Seven Lakes, Seven Lakes High School, Spartans, Diego Lazo, Phoebe Harpole, sports


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here