High School Football

Tompkins paces 19-6A all-district football honors

By Dennis Silva II, Sports Editor
Posted 1/24/21

The 2020 high school football season was yet another impressive, if not surprising, one for Katy ISD and District 19-6A.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in
High School Football

Tompkins paces 19-6A all-district football honors


The 2020 high school football season was yet another impressive, if not surprising, one for Katy ISD and District 19-6A.

For the first time in 12 years, the district crowned a new champion in Tompkins, which went undefeated at 6-0. Katy saw its incredible 11-year district title win streak and 75-game district win streak snapped. The Tigers finished second in district to Tompkins at 5-1, followed by Taylor (4-2) and Seven Lakes (3-3).

The strength of the district would be proven in the postseason. Katy went on to dominate Class 6A, Division II and win its ninth state championship. The Falcons and Mustangs each finished as regional semifinalists.

For all its success during district play, Tompkins was well-represented when the 19-6A all-district selections, voted upon by district coaches, were announced last week.

Falcons senior quarterback Jalen Milroe was named Most Valuable Player. Milroe completed 65.9 percent of his passes for 950 yards and 12 touchdowns to no interceptions in district play, while rushing for 102 yards and two touchdowns. It was the second straight year the Alabama signee won the district’s MVP award.

Tompkins senior safety Colby Huerter was recognized as Defensive Player of the Year. He totaled 40 tackles with three interceptions and two fumbles caused in district play. Falcons coach Todd McVey was honored as Coach of the Year.

Mayde Creek senior running back Julius Loughridge was named the district’s Offensive Player of the Year after sharing the honor last season. Loughridge rushed for 837 yards and 10 touchdowns in district play.

Taylor senior Trevor Woods, the Mustangs’ punter and returner, was named Special Teams Player of the Year. Cinco Ranch sophomore quarterback Gavin Rutherford was named Newcomer of the Year after throwing for 798 yards and seven touchdowns in five district games.

The following is the 19-6A all-district teams by position, with unanimous selections in italics.


First Team: Hayden Conner, Taylor, sr.; Omarion Aigbedion, Katy, sr.; CJ Marsh, Katy, sr.; Ethan Vazquez, Tompkins, jr.; Tyler Lynch, Tompkins, jr.

Second Team: Aaron Session, Morton Ranch, sr.; Jacob Norman, Katy, sr.; Ethan Onianwa, Cinco Ranch, sr.; Sam Treadway, Seven Lakes, sr.; Filbert Presley, Seven Lakes, jr.


First Team: Bryce Foster, Taylor, sr.

Second Team: Bill Katsigiannis, Katy, sr.


First Team: Julius Loughridge, Mayde Creek, sr.; Marquis Shoulders, Tompkins, sr.; Jalen Davis, Katy, sr.

Second Team: Seth Davis, Katy, so.; Michael Whitaker, Taylor, jr.; Nick Davis-West, Seven Lakes, sr.; Casey Shorter, Taylor, sr.


First Team: Sherman Smith, Tompkins, sr.

Second Team: Aidan McKinney, Katy, sr.


First Team: L’den Skinner, Mayde Creek, sr.; Tyrone Irving, Taylor, sr.; Joshua McMillan II, Tompkins, jr.

Second Team: Nic Anderson, Katy, jr.; Alpha Khan, Mayde Creek, sr.; Noah Abboud, Cinco Ranch, so.


First Team: Jalen Milroe, Tompkins, sr.

Second Team: Jace Wilson, Mayde Creek, sr.


First Team: Emilio Silva, Katy, sr.

Second Team: Brendan Sides, Seven Lakes, sr.


First Team: Marquis Shoulders, Tompkins, sr.

Second Team: Michael Whitaker, Taylor, jr.


First Team: Scott Stanford, Seven Lakes, jr.

Second Team: Fuller Shurtz, Katy, sr.


First Team: Hunter Huckaby, Tompkins, sr.

Second Team: Nemanja Lazic, Katy, sr.; Renan Baeta, Taylor, sr.


First Team: Alpha Khan, Mayde Creek, sr.

Second Team: Bobby Taylor, Katy, jr.


First Team: Malick Sylla, Katy, jr.; Eti-ini Bassey, Tompkins, jr.; Cohen Dearman, Katy, sr.; Cal Varner III, Katy, sr.

Second Team: Justin Bevrotte, Tompkins, sr.; Treviance Bronson, Taylor, sr.; David Hicks, Morton Ranch, so.; Sean DuBose Jr., Tompkins, jr.


First Team: Ty Kana, Katy, jr.; Shepherd Bowling, Katy, sr.; Bryce Shaink, Tompkins, jr.; Temisan Alatan, Tompkins, sr.

Second Team: Jaden Maronen, Katy, sr.; Aano Filoialii, Taylor, sr.; Everett Haven Jr., Mayde Creek, sr.; Sam Hampton, Morton Ranch, sr.


First Team: Colby Huerter, Tompkins, sr.; Trevor Woods, Taylor, sr.; Dalton Johnson, Katy, sr.; Hunter Washington, Katy, sr.; Dru Polidore, Tompkins, sr.

Second Team: Bobby Taylor, Katy, jr.; Alpha Khan, Mayde Creek, sr.; Hamilton McMartin, Katy, jr.; Devin Winfield, Morton Ranch, sr.; KJ Gilbert, Tompkins, sr.; D’shawn Winfield, Morton Ranch, sr.


First Team: Trevor Woods, Taylor, sr.

Second Team: Jeremy Foster, Seven Lakes, sr.; Kobee Madriz, Tompkins, sr.

Katy ISD, District 19-6A football honors, sports, Katy, Texas, Tompkins Falcons, Jalen Milroe, Julius Loughridge, Colby Huerter, Trevor Woods, Todd McVey, Gavin Rutherford


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here